Fire Risk Level

Fire Rish Low

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Opening Burning Regulations in North Carolina
Written by Administrator
Monday, 15 December 2008 19:31
PDF Print E-mail

Open Burning Regulations in North Carolina

 

Many people do not realize that open burning can result in fines up to $10,000. Read the following information to find out more about North Carolina guidelines for open burning.

A permit is needed for open burning if you are burning more than 100 feet from your home and within 500 feet of a woodland area. These permits can be obtained from the NC division of Forest Resources. These permits are free of charge.

US Forest Service Office: 837-5152

NC Forest Service Office: 837-5426

The main message is simple: Only leaves, branches, and other plant growth can be burned. Nothing Else!
Homeowners may burn these items as long as it is allowed under local ordinances, no public pickup is provided it will not cause a public nuisance.

DO NOT BURN

* Garbage, paper and cardboard.

* Tires or other rubber products

* Wire, plastics, or synthetic materials

* Asphalt shingles and heavy oils

* Paints, household or agricultural chemicals

Landowners can also open burn vegetation to clear land or rights-of-ways provided that the following guidelines are considered while open burning:

* Prevailing winds are away from built up areas and roads.

* Fires are at least 1,000 feet away from occupied buildings.

* Burning is done between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.

 

 

 

Information taken from NFPA resources and web site

 

Last Updated ( Friday, 19 December 2008 21:33 )